JOURNAL OF THE SENATE

Of the twentieth regular session of the Legislature of the State of Florida, under the Constitution of the State, A. D. 1885, begun and held at the Capitol in the City of Tallahassee, Florida, Tuesday, the seventh day of April, A. D. 1925, at 12 o'clock, noon, being the day and hour fixed by the Constitution of the State of Florida for the convening of the Legislature.

Tuesday, April 7, 1925

The Senate convened at 12 o'clock, noon, and was called to order by Hon. Theo. T. Turnbull, President of the Senate.

The Secretary of the Senate announced that the Secretary of State had certified to the election of State Senators at the general election of November, 1925, and that the same had been filed.

Secretary Charles A. Finley, by direction of the President, called the roll of the hold-over members of the Senate and the following answered to their names:

- District 4-W. J. Singletary, Grand Ridge.
- District 6-S. W. Anderson, Greensboro.
- District 8-W. C. Hodges, Tallahassee.
- District 10-R. H. Rowe, Madison.
- District 12-J. H. Scales, Perry.
- District 14-W. W. Phillips, Lake City.
- District 16-James E. Calkins, Fernandina.
- District 18-J. Turner Butler, Jacksonville.
- District 20-N. J. Wicker, Coleman.
- District 22-T. T. Turnbull, Monticello.
- District 24-W. H. Malone, Key West.
- District 26-W. A. Russell, Crescent City.

District 28—Howard G. Putnam, Oak Hill. District 30—D. N. Cone, White Springs. District 32—J. H. Colson, Gainesville.

The Secretary, by direction of the President, called the roll of the Senators elected at the general election on November 4, A. D. 1924, and the following answered to their names:

District 1-W. W. Clark, Milton.

Ì

ţ

District 2-John M. Coe, Pensacola.

District 3-D. Stuart Gillis, DeFuniak Springs.

District 5-H. N. Walker, Wakulla.

District 7-John J. Swearingen, Bartow.

District 9-Hugh Hale, Brooksville.

District 11-John S. Taylor, Largo.

District 13-John W. Watson, Miami.

District 15-D. E. Knight, Starke.

District 17-S. A. Hinely, Live Oak.

District 19-M. O. Overstreet, Orlando.

District 21-J. W. Turner, Sumner.

District 23-L. D. Edge, Groveland.

District 25-W. R. McDaniel, Blountstown.

District 27-E. J. Etheredge, Sebring.

District 29-J. Slater Smith, Green Cove Springs.

District 31-A. M. Taylor, St. Augustine.

The oath of office was administered to the foregoing recently elected Senators by the Honorable Thomas F. West, Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of Florida.

A quorum was announced.

The Senate proceeded to the organization of the body: Mr. Hodges presented the name of the Honorable John S. Taylor of the Eleventh District, to be President of the Senate for the ensuing two years.

There being no other nominations, Hon. John S. Taylor was elected by acclamation and was declared the President of the Senate.

Mr. Hodges moved that a committee of three be appointed to escort the newly-elected President to his seat.

Which was agreed to.

And Messrs. Hodges, Calkins and Swearingen were appointed.

Hon. Theo. T. Turnbull, former President of the Senate,

received the newly-chosen President and introduced him to the body.

The Hon. Chief Justice of the Supreme Court administered the oath of office to Senator John S. Taylor as President of the Senate.

Mr. Hodges placed in nomination the name of Hon. W. A. Russell of the 26th District, to be the President pro tempore of the body.

There being no other nominations, Hon. W. A. Russell was elected to be President pro tempore of the Senate, by acclamation and was escorted to a seat by the President's side by a committee composed of Messrs. Calkins, Singletary and Turner.

Mr. Hodges presented the name of Charles A. Finley of Columbia County, to be Secretary.

There being no other nominations for the office, Mr. Charles A. Finley was elected Secretary of the Senate by acclamation.

The Chief Justice tof the Supreme Court administered the oath of office to Mr. Chas. A. Finley as Secretary of the Senate.

Mr. Hodges presented the following list of attaches as a nomination for the various positions.

Assistant Secretary—Stella M. Biddle, Walton County. Bill Secretary—C. Y. Byrd, Palm Beach County.

Reading Secretary—Kate Inman, Suwannee County.

Assistant Reading Secretary—Roy Y. Walden.

Journal Secretary-Mrs. A. H. Freeman, Duval County.

Engrossing Secretary-Mrs. Newell W. Martin.

Enrolling Secretary-Mrs. Emma McDougall.

Sergeant-at-Arms-W. C. S. Kilgore.

Assistant Sergeant-at-Arms-J. B. Canon.

Messenger-L. M. Patterson.

Doorkeeper-W. H. Chancey.

Chaplain-Dr. J. N. Jackson.

Janitor-Eugene Hawkins.

Stenographer-Miss Claudia McRae.

Stenographer—Mrs. Jet Ong.

Stenographer—Miss Ruth Harte.

Stenographer-Miss Corrie Lowe.

Pages-Floyd A. Currie, Randall Dickinson, W. W. Phillips, Jr., Roy Groom.

There being no opposing nominations, the list was adopt-

and reported that they had performed the duty assigned them and they were dischargd.

The committee to wait upon the Governor, to notify him that the Senate was organized and ready to receive communications from him, appeared and reported that they had performed the duty assigned them and that the Governor desired to deliver his message before the Legislature in joint session on Wednesday, April 8th.

The committee was discharged with thanks.

Mr. Hodges offered the following Resolution;

Senate Resolution No. 3:

Be it Resolved, That the President of the Senate is hereby authorized to employ one competent stenographer to act as Secretary to the President of the Senate and perform such other stenographic duties as may be directed by other Senators, with the permission of the President of the Senate.

Mr. Hodges moved the adoption of the resolution.

Which was agreeed to.

Mr. Hodges offered the following resolution-

Senate Resolution No. 4:

Be it Resolved, That the Secretary of the Senate is hereby authorized to employ one competent person to act as Index Clerk, whose duties it shall be to index the Senate Journal in concert with other appointees to same clerkships by Attorney General and House of Representatives and perform such other services as directed by the Secretary of the Senate.

Mr. Hodges moved the adoption of the resolution.

Which was agreed to.

MESSAGE FROM THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTA-TIVES.

The following message from the House of Representatives was received : House of Representatives, Tallahassee, Fla., April 7, 1925.

Hon. John S. Taylor, President of the Senate.

Sir:

I am directed by the House of Representatives to inform the Senate that the House of Representatives has passed—

House Concurrent Resolution No. 1:

Resolved by the House of Representatives, the Senate concurring:

First, That no bills shall be introduced until Thursday, the 9th, or until the Standing Committees shall have been announced.

Second, That the Governor's Message shall be made the Special Order for Wednesday, immediately on completion of the roll call.

And respectfully requests the concurrence of the Senate thereto.

Very respectfully,

B. A. MEGINNISS,

Chief Clerk House of Representatives.

And House Concurrent Resolution No. 1, contained in the above message, was read the first time.

On motion of Mr. Malone the rules were waived by a two-thirds vote and the resolution read the second time.

Mr. Malone moved to amend the House Concurrent Resolution No. 1 so as to read that the joint session of the two Houses shall be fixed at eleven o'clock A. M.

Which was agreed to.

The Resolution as amended was read and adopted and ordered to be certified to the House of Representatives immediately.

Mr. Hodges moved that the Senate do now adjourn until 10:45 A. M. tomorrow.

Which was agreed to.

And the Senate stood adjourned until 10:45 o'clock A. M. Wednesday, April 8th, 1925.